Whitesnake’s David Coverdale Announce “Red, White and Blues” Trilogy of Albums, Talks Facemasks and Surgery with 1071 The Boss (interview)

David Coverdale: Photo Courtesy Warner Music Group
Photographer: Tyler Bourns

Whitesnake is set to roll out a trilogy of albums, “Red White and Blues,” featuring collections from the band’s expansive catalog, David Coverdale revealed in a wide-ranging interview with 1071 The Boss mid-day host Michele Amabile.

The first of the three releases, “The Rock Album,” arrives on June 19, with songs revisited, remixed, remastered, and “musically embellished” by co-producer Michael McIntyre and new mixer Christopher Collier.

Collier also got behind the board to remix the 35th anniversary edition remixed of Whitesnake’s “Slide it In,” available now on red vinyl.

“It’s not only just a fresh coat of paint, we moved some of the furniture around a bit, too,” Coverdales says.

“The Rock Album” pops out of the speakers with a fresh remix of “Still of The Night,” sequenced right into the 2008 track, “Best Years.”

The album-which will also be available on white vinyl–spans over three decades with songs originally released between 1984 and 2011 on six Whitesnake studio albums. One track – “She Give Me” – is taken from Coverdale’s 2000 solo album, Into the Light.

The group’s music from the 1980s is well represented by “Love Ain’t No Stranger” from Slide It In (1984) and “Judgement Day” from Slip of the Tongue (1989), as well as “Still Of The Night,” “Give Me All Your Love” and the #1 smash “Here I Go Again” from Whitesnake’s 1987 self-titled album, which has been certified mega-platinum.

Restless Heart (1997) gets its due on the collection with four songs, including the blistering “Can’t Stop Now.” It also features the previously unreleased track, “Always the Same” (from 2019’s “Flesh and Blood”), music from 2008’s Good to Be Bad (“Best Years” and “Can’t You Hear The Wind Blow”), and the title track from 2011’s Forevermore. Other highlights include a remixed version of “All Or Nothing” that features additional guitars pulled from the original multi-track tapes, plus an alternate arrangement of “Tell Me How” from Forevermore.

“I wanted to open the album with the new mix of “Still of the Night,” and that is one hell of a song..in concert that is how we finish the show…when we play the opening chords, the place goes even more bat (sh&t),” he says.

Still to come is the “Love Songs” collection in October (and not songs to slit your wrists to, he promises), and the Blues collection for longtime fans of the band.

Coverdale also talked about engaging with fans on social media, his favorite drink in quarantine, and why “facemasks are the new sexy.”

“The Rock Album” arrives June 19 on CD ($14.98), and as a double-LP set pressed on 180-gram, white vinyl ($31.98) and is available for pre-order now.

Whitesnake “Always the Same” YouTube


CD Track Listing:

1. “Still Of The Night”

2. “Best Years”

3. “Tell Me How”

4. “Love Ain’t No Stranger”

5. “All Or Nothing”

6. “Give Me All Your Love”

7. “Can You Hear the Wind Blow”

8. “Restless Heart”

9. “Anything You Want”

10. “Here I Go Again”

11. “Judgement Day”

12. “She Give Me”

13. “Crying”

14. “Can’t Stop Now”

15. “Always The Same” *

16. “Forevermore”

LP Track Listing

Side A

1. “Still Of The Night”

2. “Best Years”

3. “Tell Me How”

4. “Love Ain’t No Stranger”

Side B

1. “All Or Nothing”

2. “Give Me All Your Love”

3. “Can You Hear the Wind Blow”

4. “Restless Heart”

Side C

1. “Anything You Want”

2. “Here I Go Again”

3. “Judgement Day”

4. “She Give Me”

Side D

1. “Crying”

2. “Can’t Stop Now”

3. “Always The Same” *

4. “Forevermore”

* previously unreleased


Get the 107.1 The Boss