Bruce Springsteen Opens Tour in Phoenix

Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band returned to the road in Phoenix, Arizona last night with a 29-song setlist that included the return of a popular fan favorite–sign requests.

Springsteen mixed up the setlist, kicking the show off with  kicked things with The Rising track “Lonesome Day” and smashing into the Born to Run cut, “Night: and the rollicking “Two Hearts” off The River. The rest of the set featured hits like “Born To Run,” “Thunder Road,” “Rosalita (Come Out Tonight),” “Dancing in the Dark” and “Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out,” along with fan favorites like “No Surrender,” “Prove it All Night,” “Backstreets,” “Because the Night” and “Mary’s Place.”

For encores, Springsteen took a sign request from a fan asking for “Twist and Shout.” It is too early to tell if this will become a nightly thing, but the band has a show in Las Vegas on March 22 at the T Mobile Arena, so all bets are literally off.

Springsteen’s lone reference to his battle with peptic ulcer disease was:  “I had a mother****** of a bellyache.”

Don’t miss Springsteen on Sunday with Tom Cunningham Sunday morning at 9 a.m. for more updates.

Setlist (courtesy of SetlistFM):

  1. Lonesome Day
  2. Night
  3. No Surrender
  4. Two Hearts(with a snippet of Marvin Gaye… more )
  5. Darlington County
  6. Ghosts
  7. Prove It All Night
  8. Darkness on the Edge of Town
  9. Letter to YouPlay
  10. The Promised Land
  11. Spirit in the Night
  12. Don’t Play That Song (You Lied)
  13. Nightshift(Commodores cover)
  14. Mary’s Place
  15. Last Man Standing(acoustic, with Barry Danielian on trumpet)
  16. Backstreets
  17. Because the Night
  18. She’s the One
  19. Wrecking Ball
  20. The Rising
  21. Badlands
  22. Thunder Road
  23. Encore:
  24. Born to Run
  25. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
  26. Glory Days
  27. Dancing in the Dark
  28. Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out
  29. Twist and Shout (sign request)
  30. Encore 2:
  31. I’ll See You in My Dreams(solo, acoustic)

Get the 107.1 The Boss