Sting Celebrates 35th Anniversary of “…Nothing Like the Sun”

Sting is celebrating the 35th Anniversary of the release of his record, “…Nothing Like the Sun,” with an expanded, digital-only release available today (Oct. 13).

The 26-track Expanded Edition features the original 12 songs from the record, which is adopted from Shakespeare’s Sonnet No. 130 (“My mistress’ eyes are nothing like the sun”). The new version will include 14 bonus tracks that consist of B-sides, remixes, alternate versions, and instrumentals.

Produced by Produced by Sting, Hugh Padgham, Bryan Loren, and Neil Dorfsman, “…Nothing Like the Sun” featured hit single (No. 7 on the US Hot 100 chart) “We’ll Be Together,” featuring Annie Lennox of the Eurythmics on background vocalists. Other key songs on the album included quirky, jazz-inflected “Englishman in New York” tipped its bowler to English ex-pat and expert storyteller Quentin Crisp, while “Fragile–with Sting on acoustice guitar–paid homage to an American civil engineer killed in Nicaragua by the Contras.

The record also had an A-list lineup of guest musicians, including former Police band-mate Andy Summers on the album’s opening track “The Lazarus Heart,” Hiram Bullock on the cover of Jimi Hendrix’s “Little Wing,” and Dire Straits’ Mark Knopfler, Eric Clapton, and Fareed Haque on “They Dance Alone.” 

 “…Nothing Like The Sun” has been certified double platinum by the RIAA, topped the album charts in two countries, the UK and Japan, and also peaked at No. 9 on the US Billboard 200.

To listen, click HERE.


  1. The Lazarus Heart
  2. Be Still My Beating Heart
  3. Englishman in New York
  4. History Will Teach Us Nothing
  5. They Dance Alone
  6. Fragile
  7. We’ll Be Together
  8. Straight To My Heart
  9. Rock Steady
  10. Sister Moon
  11. Little Wing
  12. The Secret Marriage
  13. Conversation With A Dog [Bonus Track]
  14. If You There [Bonus Track]
  15. Up From The Skies [Bonus Track]
  16. Someone To Watch Over Me [Bonus Track]
  17. Ghost in The Strand [Bonus Track]
  18. Englishman in New York / Ben Liebrand Mix [Bonus Track]
  19. Englishman in New York / Ben Liebrand Mix (Edit) [Bonus Track]
  20. Fragile / dj MONK’s Extended Vocal Remix Version [Bonus Track]
  21. Fragile / dj MONK’s Radio Edit Version [Bonus Track]
  22. Fragile / dj MONK’s Hard Rain Dub Version [Bonus Track]
  23. Fragile / Bedroom Rockers Remix Version [Bonus Track]
  24. We’ll Be Together / Extended Mix [Bonus Track]
  25. We’ll Be Together / Alternate Version [Bonus Track]
  26. We’ll Be Together / Instrumental [Bonus Track]

Get the 107.1 The Boss