Bruce Springsteen Set to Release Iconic ‘No Nukes’ Concert Film

It’s Bruce Springsteen’s birthday, and fans were given a gift with the release of the concert trailer for the forthcoming “No Nukes” film.

Up until that point, Springsteen resisted having his live shows recorded, but relented for the September 1979 shows at Madison Square Garden benefit concerts featuring Jackson Browne, Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers, Crosby, Stills & Nash, Bonnie Raitt, Jackson Browne, the Doobie Brothers, and Carly Simon.

.Film and television were relatively cool mediums, and we were a hot band,” Springsteen told Rolling Stone. ” I said, ‘If you want to feel that heat, you need to be at that show.’”

“They were filming it,” Springsteen continued. “They said, ‘You’ll have a choice of whether you’re in the movie or not.’ That meant I didn’t have to think about the cameras since I knew I could throw it away if I wanted to.”

“The Legendary 1979 No Nukes Concerts” will finally see a rull release globally in HD for digital download on November 16 and digital rental on November 23. Edited by longtime Springsteen collaborator Thom Zimny from the original 16mm film alongside remixed audio from Bob Clearmountain, the film will be released in HD on physical formats November 19, including on two CD with DVD, two CD with Blu-Ray and two LP formats. Each set will come with a 24-page book packed with rare photos, memorabilia and an essay.

“A few years ago, I started re-examining the filmed archives for Bruce and the Band’s appearances at the No Nukes concerts of 1979,” said Zimny. “I quickly realized that these were the best performances and best filming from the Band’s legendary ‘70s, and dedicated myself to bringing out the full potential of the footage. Having worked as Bruce’s principal director and editor for the last 20 years, I can say without reservation that this newly re-edited, re-mixed and restored 90-minute film is the gold standard for Bruce and the Band live during one of their greatest creative periods.”

“The Legendary 1979 No Nukes Concerts” Setlist

  1. Prove It All Night
  2. Badlands
  3. The Promised Land
  4. The River
  5. Sherry Darling
  6. Thunder Road
  7. Jungleland
  8. Rosalita Come Out Tonight
  9. Born To Run
  10. Stay
  11. Detroit Medley
  12. Quarter To Three
  13. Rave On

Get the 107.1 The Boss