Bruce Springsteen Announces New Soul Covers Album (Video)

Bruce Springsteen will get soulful with a new album comprised of soul covers, titled “Only The Strong Survive,” he announced today.

Springsteen teased the record with a series of social media posts–including a pic of the open road and a steering wheel–earlier this week. The record –which arrives Nov. 11–will feature songs from the catalogs of Motown and Stax Records, as well as the songwriting duo of Gamble and Huff with guest vocals by soul great Sam Moore, as well as contributions from the E Street Horns, string arrangements by Rob Mathes, and backing vocals by Soozie Tyrell, Lisa Lowell, Michelle Moore, Curtis King Jr., Dennis Collins and Fonzi Thornton.

“I wanted to make an album where I just sang. And what better music to work with than the great American songbook of the Sixties and Seventies? I’ve taken my inspiration from Levi Stubbs, David Ruffin, Jimmy Ruffin, the Iceman Jerry Butler, Diana Ross, Dobie Gray, and Scott Walker, among many others. I’ve tried to do justice to them all—and to the fabulous writers of this glorious music. My goal is for the modern audience to experience its beauty and joy, just as I have since I first heard it. I hope you love listening to it as much as I loved making it,” Springsteen said in a statement.

The record was tracked at Thrill Hill Recording at Springsteen’s studio in New Jersey, produced by Ron Aniello, engineered by Rob Lebret and executive produced by Jon Landau. The release will mark Bruce Springsteen’s 21st studio album and first release since 2020’s “Letter To You.”

Springsteen will reunite with the E Street Band in February for his 2023 international tour, which to date has sold over 1.6 million tickets across the United States and Europe. See the tour dates here.


1. Only the Strong Survive

2. Soul Days feat. Sam Moore

3. Nightshift

4. Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)

5. The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore

6. Turn Back the Hands of Time

7. When She Was My Girl

8. Hey, Western Union Man

9. I Wish It Would Rain

10. Don’t Play That Song

11. Any Other Way

12. I Forgot to Be Your Lover feat. Sam Moore

13. 7 Rooms of Gloom

14. What Becomes of the Brokenhearted

15. Someday We’ll Be Together

Get the 107.1 The Boss