The Smithereens; Patti Smith Nominated for NJ Hall of Fame

The nominations for the New Jersey Hall of Fame are in, and The Smithereens are in the running for the Performing Arts Category, Class of 2018.

The Smithereens were formed in 1980 by Jim Babjak, Dennis Diken, Mike Mesaros, and the late Pat DiNizio, who passed away in 2017. The band is among 50 other nominees eligible for the honor.

Others in the running  for the same category include: Patti Smith, Danny Aiello, Jason Alexander, Peter Dinklage, Whoopi Goldberg, Anne Hathaway, Ed HarrisChris Rock,  and Phoebe Snow.

Online public voting ends Dec. 15; visit The winner in each category, as voted by the public, is guaranteed induction.

The inductees will be announced in January, and the ceremony will be in May. Last year’s induction ceremony–which honored E Street Band member Steve Van Zandt and Blondie’s Debbie Harry–was held in Asbury Park’s Convention Hall.

Also nominated:


Peter Benchley; Stephen Crane; Joyce Kilmer; Fran Lebowitz; Anne Morrow Lindbergh; George R.R. Martin; John Forbes Nash, Jr.; George Segal; Gay Talese; photographer Timothy White.


Anthony Bourdain; James E. Burke; Leonard S. Coleman, Jr.; J. Fletcher Creamer, Sr.; Fred Morgan Kirby; Tim McLoone; Denise Morrison; Dr. Victor Parsonnet; Mary G. Roebling; Arthur F. Ryan; George R. Zoffinger.


Samuel Alito, Jr.; Elizabeth Almira Allen; Virginia Apgar; Alfred Driscoll; Louis Freeh; Milton Friedman; Antonin Scalia; Richard Stockton; Paul Volcker; Theodore V. “Ted” Wells.


Rick Barry; Harry Carson; Gerry Cooney; Anne Donovan; Laurie Hernandez; Jerry Izenberg; John McMullen; Bart Oates; David Stern; Paul Tagliabue.