Doobie Brothers, Depeche Mode, NIN Among 2020 Rock Hall Inductees

The Doobie Brothers, Depeche Mode, Whitney HoustonNine Inch Nails,  The Notorious B.I.G. and T.Rex will all be inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s Class of  2020 inductees, the organization announced this morning.  The ceremony will take place at the public auditorium in Cleveland on May 2. It will be broadcast live on HBO.

Receiving the Ahmet Ertegun Award, which is essentially for non-performing professionals, are longtime Bruce Springsteen manager and former music critic Jon Landau and veteran Eagles and Bon Jovi manager and multifaceted executive Irving Azoff. (Will Springsteen and Bon Jovi be on hand for the ceremony? Stay tuned!)

The 35th annual ceremony will be broadcast live for the first time this year — May 2, on HBO, from the Public Auditorium in Cleveland, Ohio. Tickets are on sale Feb. 27; performances and special guests will be announced later.

The induction of The Doobie Brothers is perfect timing for the band, as Tom Johnston, Michael McDonald, Pat Simmons and John McFee will be back on tour together for the first time in nearly 25 years. The tour lands at the PNC Bank Arts Center on June 29. Nine Inch Nails founder Trent Reznor was on hand in 2019 to induct The Cure into the Hall in 2019.

Among the snubs: Pat Benatar, Judas Priest, Kraftwerk, Dave Matthews Band, MC5, Motorhead, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Todd Rundgren, Soundgarden and Thin Lizzy. The Dave Matthews Band were the winners of the fan vote, but did not make the cut with Hall of Fame voters made up of an international voting body of more than 1,000 artists, including current living Inductees, historians and members of the music industry.

While the ceremony traditionally includes performances by nominated artists, half of the show will be tributes, as three acts–Houston, Notorious B.I.G. (real name, Christopher Wallace) and Marc Bolan of T-Rex–are all deceased.