Def Leppard Announces Third Box Set

A new Def Leppard box set is set for release in March, the band announced.

The 5 CD collection-the third in a series–is titled The Early Years: 79-91. It arrives March 20 and focuses on the band’s  first two studio albums: 1980’s On Through the Night and 1981’s High ‘N’ Dry.

“Well, the fans asked, and we listened!” says Def Leppard frontman Joe Elliott, who executive-produced the collection. “Really excited to have our early years reworked with a load of rare material, including the newly unearthed Live at the Oxford New Theatre…It’s been a trip putting this box set together and I hope you all enjoy listening to it as much as we did working on it!”

Included in the set: remastered versions of the two albums, as well as the group’s 1979 debut EP, B-sides, rarities, alternate mixes, BBC radio sessions, single edits, performances from the 1980 Reading Festival, and a previously unreleased recording of a 1980 concert the band played in Oxford, U.K.

Def Leppard is hitting the road this summer for a tour with Motley Crue, Poison and Joan Jett. The show hits Citi Field in NYC on August 23.

Here’s the track list for The Early Years 79-81 collection, which can be pre-ordered now:

CD One: On Through the Night — Re-Mastered
“Rock Brigade”
“Hello America”
“Sorrow Is a Woman”
“It Could Be You”
“When the Walls Came Tumbling Down”
“Rocks Off”
“It Don’t Matter”
“Answer to the Master”

CD Two: High ‘N’ Dry — Re-Mastered
“Let It Go”
“Another Hit and Run”
“High N Dry (Saturday Night)”
“Bringin’ On the Heartache”
“Switch 625”
“You Got Me Runnin'”
“Lady Strange”
“On Through the Night”
“Mirror Mirror (Look into My Eyes)”
“No No No”

CD Three: When the Walls Came Tumbling Down — Live in Oxford 4/26/1980
“When the Walls Came Tumbling Down”
“It Could Be You”
“Rock Brigade”
“Medicine Man”
“Answer to the Master”
“When the Rain Falls”
“Sorrow Is a Woman”
“Good Morning Freedom”
“Don’t Matter to Me”
“Lady Strange”
“Getcha Rocks Off”
“Hello America”
“Ride into the Sun”

CD Four: Too Many Jitterbugs — B-Sides and Rarities
“Ride into the Sun” — The Def Leppard EP
“Getcha Rocks Off” — The Def Leppard EP
“The Overture” — The Def Leppard EP
“Wasted” — Single
“Hello America” — Single
“Rock Brigade” — Unreleased Nick Tauber produced version
“Glad I’m Alive” — Unreleased Nick Tauber produced version
“Good Morning Freedom” — Single
“Let It Go” — Single Edit
“Switch 625” — Single Edit
“Bringin’ On the Heartbreak” — Single Edit
“Me and My Wine” — Original Version
“Bringin’ On the Heartbreak” — Remix
“Me and My Wine” — Remix

CD Five: Raw — Early BBC Recordings
“Glad I’m Alive” (Andy Peebles Session — 6/7/1979)
“Sorrow Is a Woman” (Andy Peebles Session — 6/7/1979)
“Wasted” (Andy Peebles Session — 6/7/1979)
“Answer to the Master” (Andy Peebles Session — 6/7/1979)
“Satellite” (Friday Rock Show Session — 10/3/1979)
“Rock Brigade” (Friday Rock Show Session — 10/3/1979)
“Wasted” (Friday Rock Show Session — 10/3/1979)
“Good Morning Freedom” (Friday Rock Show Session — 10/3/1979)
“Satellite”/”When the Walls Came Tumbling Down” (Live at the Reading Festival — 8/24/1980)
“Medicine Man” (Live at the Reading Festival — 8/24/1980)
“The Overture” (Live at the Reading Festival — 8/24/1980)
“Lady Strange” (Live at the Reading Festival — 8/24/1980)
“Getcha Rocks Off” (Live at the Reading Festival — 8/24/1980)